Barangay nutrition workers to get awards

-A A +A

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

BEST implemented barangay nutrition program, best nutrition action officers and scholars, and workers of the Baguio City Nutrition Council (BCNC) for the past 20 years will receive awards on Thursday at the Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center (BGHMC) auditorium.

The occasion will mark the end of the 2013 nutrition month celebration with keynote speaker Eileen Blanco, officer-in-charge and Nutrition Program Coordinator of the National Nutrition Council in the Cordillera Administrative Region.

The winner in the best implemented barangay nutrition program, Gibraltar, will render the doxology for the occasion while outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholar Monica Sicat will lead the national anthem.


The OIC-medical center chief of BGHMC Dr. Jimmy Cabfit will deliver the welcome remarks while Mayor Mauricio Domogan and Congressman Nicasio Aliping will share their messages before the awarding ceremonies.

Among this year's service awardees are Anita Urbano and Josephine Urbino, both of the Health Services Office Nutrition Services. They have served as secretariat of the BCNC for the past 20 years. On other hand, Frinida Chinopsan of the same office served for 15 years, while Corazon Cabanayan, Jocelyn Cagay-an and Ma. Conception Itliong served for 10 years.

Alberto Tomas of the City Mayor’s Office, Special Services Division has served as member of the technical working group of the BCNC for 15 years while Elizabeth Fontanos of the Department of Education, Baguio City Division served for 10 years.

Erlinda Loma-ang of Barangay Alfonso Tabora has been Barangay Nutrition Action Officer for 15 years, while Yolanda Benlingan of Camp 7 and Rosemarie Garabiles of East Modernsite served for 15 years as Barangay Nutrition Scholars.

Sherla Belarmino and Lorna Maliones are barangay nutrition action officer awardees for 10 years. Belarmino served at Fairview and Maliones at Outlook Drive.

BNAO service awardees for five years are Emily Alzate of Imelda Village, Lorraine Bernal of Lower Lourdes, Estelita Cachero of Middle Rock Quarry, Sherry Angela Daez of Palma Urbano, Lucia Dolteo of Imelda Marcos, Diana Gajonera of Irisan, Lorna Manuel of Asin Road, Luningning Matriz of San Antonio Village, Peter Melchor of Bakakeng Central, Nayla Napat-a of Brookside and Juliet Wakit of West Quirino Hill.

Nelly Cachero of Scout Barrio, Marlene Calindas of Lourdes Subdivision Extension, Levita Concepcion of Country Club, Joaquina Dayuwan of St. Joseph Village, Wilma Dela Cruz of Fairview and Demetria Padadac of Kias are Barangay Nutrition Scholars (BNS) for 10 years.

BNS service awardees for five years are Pacita Antonio of Asin road, Joan Camacho of Victoria Village, Jenny Dang-as for East Quirino Hill, Imelda Espineli of Fort del Pilar, Jessica Gabatino of Dizon-Manzanillo, Susan Habiling of Camp 7, Leonora Lipawen of Dontogan, Elnora Loy of West Modernsite, Jocelyn Manipon of Ferdinand barangay, Medinah Masla of Mines View, Brenda Padopad of West Quirino Hill, Herminia Sagofian of Loakan Apugan, Conchita Sanchez of South Sanitary Camp, Dyna Solis of Dominican-Mirador, Monica Sicat of City Camp Proper, Minda Soriano of San Antonio Village, and Conception Viray of Holy Ghost Proper.

The city's outstanding BNS are Monica Sicat of City Camp Proper, Zenaida Dana of Gibraltar, Jo Ann Alvez of Salud Mitra, Imelda Tibalao of SLU-SVP, Belma Acop of Pacdal, ranked first to fifth places; Jane Liwan of Gibraltar, Elsie Bacod of Happy Hallow, Janet Cuello of Honeymoon-Holy Ghost, Purita Perez of MRR-Queen of Peace and Corazon Sebastian of Middle Quirino Hill, for the sixth to tenth places, respectively. Louela Mina of Irisan, Minda Soriano of San Antonio Village, Rosemarie Garabiles of East Modernsite, Elizabeth Akiapas of Ambiong, Joan Camacho of Victoria Village and Brigette Guilod of Pinget are ranked 11th to 16th place.

Gibraltar headed by barangay captain Roy Tao-ey placed first in the city’s Best Implemented Barangay Nutrition Program; Pacdal with PB Roberto Medina is second, Imelda Marcos with PB Ernesto Laguardia; Happy Hallow with PB Soriano Palonan, Kias with PB Timothy Pudlao, Jr. placed second to fifth places, respectively. (Julie Fianza)

The theme for this year's nutrition month celebration is "Gutom at Malnutrisyon, Sama-sama Nating Wakasan."

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on August 15, 2013.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Sinulog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • Festivals
  • goodearth
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary