Old names, faces define local polls

-A A +A

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

ALL elected officials in Baguio are either incumbent or returning local government officials.

Results of this year’s elections show all of the elected officials in the May13 midterm polls in Baguio either served once as a councilor, vice-mayor, mayor, and congressman.

Based on the partial and official count of the Commission on Elections (Comelec), as of 1 p.m. Tuesday, Councilor Nicasio Aliping maintained his lead as the city’s lone district representative with 37,045 votes over Liberal Party bet Marquez Go with 34,503 votes. Incumbent Representative Bernardo Vergara ranked third in the overall tally for congressman with 23,017 votes.


Aliping served two terms as city councilor and was the number one councilor in 2010 when he was still allied with Mayor Mauricio Domogan and Vergara’s Timpuyog Ti Baguio coalition.

The representative-elect who served as chairman of the Committee on Public Utilities, Transportation and Traffic Legislation was also endorsed by the influential Iglesia Ni Cristo in Baguio with around 8,000 members.

Aliping only left the local coalition after deciding to run for congress this year adding he aimed for the congressional post as early as 2010 but gave way to Vergara in 2010 as a loyal party member.

Mayor Mauricio Domogan, on the other hand, led the results for the mayoralty post with some 47,805 votes over his closest rival former councilor Jose Molintas who received 43,018 votes.

Domogan has served the city as mayor for at least 12 years and nine years as member of the House of Representatives.

Vice Mayor Daniel Fariñas was also elected with some 70,224 votes over his nearest rival Francis Padawil with 6,157 votes. This is among the highest votes casted for a single candidate in the city.

In the 12-member City Council, incumbent Councilor Edison Bilog of the Liberal Party received the highest casted votes at 50,915.

Taking the second to twelfth positions and their corresponding votes are Roberto Ortega (49,689 votes); Betty Lourdes Tabanda (44,796); Isabelo Cosalan (42,867); Leandro Yangot (42,630); Elmer Datuin (42,337); Faustino Olowan (39,560); Richard Cariño (39,511); Joel Alangsab (38,651); Elaine Sembrano (37,841); Peter Fianza (35,751); and Fred Bagbagen (33,529).

All of the councilors-elect once served as councilors. Reelected councilors were Bilog, Tabanda, Cosalan, Datuin, Cariño, Alangsab (ex-officio as ABC President) and Fianza.

Ortega, Yangot, Olowan, and Sembrano also once served as city councilors.

Comelec OIC-Baguio election officer Reddy Balarbar said some 95.88 percent of votes have been transmitted to the canvassing center as of noon Tuesday.

Canvassing of votes resumed 10 a.m. Tuesday and started with the reading of the Compact flash (CF) cards for votes that were not transmitted from at least five barangays including vote-rich Irisan which is the biggest barangay in the city.

Balarbar said the total percentage of votes would not reach 100 percent due to the failure of elections in Lualhati Barangay and the failure of Kayang Extension barangays to transmit the casted votes. (JM Agreda)

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on May 15, 2013.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper