Sharp, Canvil Knights top Suppliers Challenge Cup

-A A +A

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

SHARP Aquos I stayed sharp to emerge champion in the premiere division sharing honors with Canvil Knights and Condura ASSFBI Ladies II in the just-finished Suppliers Challenge Cup Open Trio Bowling Championship 2014 at the New Tops Millennium Plaza Alley in Bacolod City.

Aquos I bowlers pocketed the Class A title and snatched the top purse after beating ESD Solid Strikers in the finals, 371-307.

Nonoy Hulguin rolled a game-high 143 pinfalls as teammates Raymund Lopez and Edgar de Leon added 119 and 109, respectively, leaving Sharp teammate Fred Empio just to enjoy the show.


Erwin Mazarte and Ricky Zamora scored 112 apiece for the losing cause of ESD which was out of sync in the last day of competition.

Solid Strikers were seeded No.3 in the top four but earned the opportunity to challenge the number one team by defeating Davies 6 in the quarterfinals, 327-308. Its streak continued with an overwhelming victory over sister team ESD Electronz, 370-307, in the semifinal. Its luck ran out against Sharp.

In Class B, Canvil Knights extinguished Candles/Alimon Steel in the championship, 330-327, just blowing by three pinfalls to collect the top prize at stake. Ulysses "Road Runner" Pacheco, Elmer Libo-on, Fred Empio and Edgar Allan Del Rosario were lucky to steal from the Steelers.

In the distaff side, Condura ASSFBI Ladies II bannered by Cheryl Ramos, Tess Robles, Precy Pillo and Arlene Memoria were too much for the hard fighting Rowena Juarez, Mae Memoracion and Reanne Reboton of RJ Stars/NPBC in the deciding match with a cool 353-282 result.

Juarez' group surprised the twice-to-beat Condura in their first final encounter, 308-290, but ASSFBI Ladies recovered when it is needed most to pocket the top purse and the tournament's crown in the women's division.

Ramos topscored for Condura with 132 pinfalls, while Pillo and Robles adding 111 and 110 apiece.

Tournament's record holders were Kami Mga Hubin and ESD Electronz in the highest team single and triple with 418 and 1,158, respectively. Condura ASSFBI II tops the women's single and double with 370 and 689.

NPBC/RJ Stars Willy Mahilum and Leila Aguda took the individual highest pinning with 97 and 94; Ricky Ondovilla (ESD Strikers) and Precy Pillo (ASSFBI) the single with 172 and 136 apiece; Lawrence Llena (ESD) and Cecil Biendo (Tiger Eye) in triple with 402 and 247, respectively.

Published in the Sun.Star Bacolod newspaper on August 06, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!