AFC President's Cup official draw set today

-A A +A

Saturday, March 29, 2014

TEAMS that will fill up the three brackets for the AFC President's Cup 2014 Group Stage will be known today when the official draw takes place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The international football tournament slated May 1 to 11 will feature 11 clubs across Asia, with four teams playing in the Philippines along with host Ceres-La Salle Football Club.

With hosts Philippines (Bacolod-based Ceres FC), Erchim FC of Mongolia and the Sri Lanka Air Force SC of Sri Lanka as seeded teams, only eight teams are joining the drawing of lots.


The clubs are the Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Limited (Bangladesh), Ugyen Academy FC (Bhutan), Svayrieng FC (Cambodia), Tatung Company (Chinese Taipei), Rimyongsu Club (DPR Korea), Manang Marshyangdi Club (Nepal), KRL Football Club (Pakistan), and FC HTTU (Turkmenistan).

There will be two groups of four clubs each and one group of three clubs.

Each group will play a one-round league, where each club in the group shall play one match against every other club.

The top two clubs in each group will qualify to the “final stage” and will be grouped in two with three clubs each playing in one centralized venue on September 22 to 28.

The winner of each group will advance to play the finals. (HGD)

Published in the Sun.Star Bacolod newspaper on March 29, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!