Green Dragons bag TBAC crown

-A A +A

Friday, March 14, 2014

GREEN Dragons survived the spears of the Spartans, 99-93 to capture the title in the recently-concluded Talisay Basketball Athletic Club’s First Conference Inter-Color Basketball Tournament held at the Talisay City gym.

Jose Joey Diamante scored 13 points to lead the well-balanced Dragon offense with four other scoring in double figures. Rodolfo Hijan fired 12 points while Radin Chua and Pamplona nailed 11 markers each, and Arselito Belonio contributed with 10 points.

Backstopping Dragons’ scoring was Phonic Geanga with nine points as Ralph Alejandro added eight points while Rudy Nonato, Mayor Eric Saratan and Discutido combined for 18 points.


Meanwhile, Jorge Bertolano alongside Linga and John Po had two points apiece as Eric Berayo added a point. Completing the team are Ramir Javelona, Ramon and Jun Jun Treyes, Arimas, Regie Ortiz, and Depasucat.

On the other hand, Mewyn Oñas anchored the Spartans’ double figure scorers with 22 points as Oca Aquino and Jun Jun Vulcan added 18 and 13 points, respectively.

Also helping out in the Spartans’ scoring are Stanley Besana with nine points, Glen Andrade and Richel Malunes with six points each, Sonny Cabangal with five points while Ian Posadas and Elizer Cuenca with three points apiece. Narciso Galang, Eric Morales, Romeo Huevos and Garcia dropped two points each. Completing the roster are Prudy Nivera, Esteves, Joselito Chu, Nino Ramos and Salvatuna.

The Jaguars pulled away with a 102-94 win over the Pitbulls to secure the third place.

The Jaguars is bannered by former president Rolin Meliton, Romeo Gruta, Rodney Mesa, Gerard Sarrosa, Samuel Ramirez, Gary Saludares, Estevez, Edwin Ursula, Ernie Castillo, Ruby Acot, Globert Layan, Meynard Quinlat, Marvin Jayobo, Regie Hervias, Chino Ledesma, and Isidro Secuelan.

Meanwhile, club president Tata Piurque’s Pitbulls are powered by Bing Bing Hechanova, Marvin Magdato Sr., Dante Casama, Rico Ortillano, William Camaso, Roldan Chua, Lemuel Acot, Warren de Asis, James Aguirre, Paolo Magbanua, Eric Labayen, Jacob Alunan, Nonoy Pabon, Martin Pasco and Boy Boy Besa./HGD

Published in the Sun.Star Bacolod newspaper on March 14, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper