USLS-IS stings TCS to retain DFL crown

-A A +A

Monday, March 10, 2014

VICTORY is not always easy for the defending champion University of St. La Salle–Integrated School (USLS-IS) which passed through rough roads and tough challenges in the early rounds.

In the end, a 3-1 win over Coach Ronald Allan Treyes’ and his Trinity Christian School booters in the final of the U13 division of the 2014 Dynamic Football League more than made up for the trials every weekend at the Panaad Park and Stadium.

Dave Javellana and his Junior Stingers could heave a sigh in relief now that the crown is theirs again to keep and to cherish.


A strong 2-0 start, triggered by eventual Most Valuable Player Chyle Miraflores who nailed the first goal in the fifth minute started it all. Then Ralph Castro added another one in the 29th minute. Joshua Limco drove in the clincher in the 41st minute after the break.

By the time TCS’ Ram Emmanuel Treyes connected a goal in the 46th minute, the outcome was no doubt going to the La Sallians' favor.

Javellana, en route to the finals said, “We had to make lots of adjustments in our tactical play and the players’ positioning in the quarterfinals against University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos and in the semifinals against Don Bosco Technical Institute. Both tough teams to beat.”

“And being able to get through them made our team more confident and more determined to win and defend our title against Trinity. We [coaching staff] told the kids never to give up and keep focused,” Javellana added.

“We are very happy to get this victory and defend our title – knowing that we came from behind during the elimination round,” he concluded.

It can be recalled that Miraflores scored early in the 23rd minute to give USLS-IS a one-nil victory against erstwhile tournament leader Don Bosco Technical Institute in the the semis. The champion also survived UNO-R winning on penalty shootout, 7-6 in the quarterfinals.

USLS-IS boosts of best defender Yuri Akol, Cassiel Acma, Jose Maria Cajili, Aleksie Cuadra, Marco and Miguel Ditching, Antonio Angel Hom, Giles Gelvoleo, Ryan Locsin, Matthew Maramba, John Vincent and Raymund Occeno, Matthew Rojas, Gursimranjit Singh, and Robbie Tolosa.

Other individual awardees include Best Striker Chris Valderama of Andres Bonifacio Elementary School, Best Goalkeeper John Veloso of TCS and Best Midfielder Joseph Ciocon of Apolinario Mabini Elementary School.

DBTI settled for third with a heavy heart after blanking AMES, 4-nil.

Published in the Sun.Star Bacolod newspaper on March 10, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam